Minor in Physics

Units required for Minor: 21, all of which must be taken in Physics, and a minimum of 9 upper division units is required1

Program Description

Physics is the most fundamental science and underlies our understanding of nearly all areas of science and technology. In a broad sense, physics is concerned with the study of energy, space, and matter, and with the interactions between matter and the laws that govern these interactions. More specifically, physicists study mechanics, heat, light, electric and magnetic fields, gravitation, relativity, atomic and nuclear physics, and condensed matter physics.

Program Requirements

Required Lower Division Courses (12 Units)
PHYS 11AGeneral Physics: Mechanics4
PHYS 11BGeneral Physics: Heat, Light, Sound, Modern Physics4
PHYS 11CGeneral Physics: Electricity and Magnetism4
Required Upper Division Courses (3 Units)
PHYS 106Introduction to Modern Physics3
Additional Upper Division Requirements (6 Units)
Select 6 units of electives in consultation with an advisor:6
Mathematical Methods in Physics
Classical Mechanics
Electronics and Instrumentation
Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics
Electricity And Magnetism
Electrodynamics of Waves, Radiation,and Materials
Applied Solid State Physics
Quantum Mechanics
Advanced Modern Physics
Scientific Computing: Basic Methods
Advanced Physics Laboratory
Total Units21

Note: PHYS 5A, PHYS 5B may be substituted for PHYS 11A, PHYS 11C, but the 21-unit minimum must be met by additional courses in one of two ways: